Understanding Chakras

The seven-chakra system is what we typically hear about in Western cultures. It became a more prominent method by the 16th century. Chakra is a Sanskrit word that means disk or wheel. The idea is that we have “wheels” of energy in our bodies, literally 1,000s. Our fingertips are filled with them.

We have seven main centers. These centers run up and down the spine and correspond to different organs. Many believe that we remain vibrant and healthy if our chakras are open and balanced.

Because our systems are fluid and we are constantly in a state of change, remaining balanced isn’t the norm. That’s why practices like yoga and meditation are good for us! They help us do just that—stay balanced.

Each chakra is directly related to nerve centers in the body and it is also believed it impacts our emotional, psychological and physical health. For example, a woman who rarely speaks up for herself, will more than likely have issues with the throat chakra. This reaction to not speaking up might show up as a thyroid problem.

Here’s a bit about what each chakra to help you sort things out.  The chakras also are identified by colors of the rainbow.

Root Chakra—Red

It is located at the coccyx or base of the tailbone. The root chakra is connected to the adrenal glands, bones and skeletal system. You might experience challenges in this area if you are faced with survival and/or physical needs.

Sacral Chakra—Orange

The sacral chakra is located at the umbilicus, or more simply put, about two inches below the belly button. This chakra is tied to the reproductive glands and impacts circulation and the lower back system. When this chakra is out of whack it might have to do with emotional balance and/or sexuality. This is where your sense of well-being and creativity stems from.

The Solar Plexus Chakra—Yellow

It is located below the tip of the sternum in your upper abdomen. This chakra is tied to the pancreas and adrenal glands as well as the digestive system and your muscles. This is where your ideas about personal power or your self-esteem can impact flow. The more you can respect yourself, your choices and find a purpose for your life the better off you’ll be.

The Heart Chakra—Green

This chakra is located in the mid-sternum or rather the center of the chest. The thymus gland, your heart, lungs, chest and circulation can be impacted. Where you see challenges with this chakra is centered around love and relationships including whether you love yourself, which is the first step to truly loving others. 

The Throat Chakra—Blue

It is located in the throat and influences the thyroid, parathyroid glands, ear, nose, throat, mouth and neck. Issues with this chakra have to do with communication and self-expression. Living a harmonious life and expressing oneself is key.  Artists, writers and singers naturally have healthy throat chakras.

The Third Eye Chakra—Indigo

This chakra is located mid-forehead and impacts the pituitary gland, eyes and nervous system. This is where intuition and wisdom are expressed and 3rd eye eyesight.

The Crown Chakra—White, Gold, Violet

It is located at the top of the head and is connected to the pineal gland. It impacts the cerebral cortex and skin. This is where selflessness and spirituality play a part and also the connection to our inner and outer beauty. It is from this chakra that we turn towards an expansion of consciousness.

Now that you have the overview and a general understanding, the next step is to consider adding ways to balance your chakras to your routine.

Ways to balance your charkas:

1.   Acupuncture

2.   Reiki

3.   Meditation

4.   Yoga, Tai Chi or Qi Gong

Did you enjoy this article? Please like and share below. Michelle XO